Uglich, Russia

Attractions, Monuments, museums and pictures of Uglich

In the Yaroslavl region, 225 km from Moscow there is the small ancient Russian city of Uglich entering into the Golden ring of Russia. It is situated on the banks of the Volga River, just in place where it makes a sharp bend, which was once called "Ugilets" or "Uglich". Probably, since that time the city got its name. But there is also another version. According to this one, in antiquity this place was used for burning out the coal.

Uglich is a city with thousand-year history, with silent ancient small streets, picturesque Russian landscapes and magnificent architectural ensembles of orthodox temples and churches.

The arms of Uglich city have been confirmed on March, 30th, 2007. On the arms the prince Dmitry is represented. In the right hand the prince holds a silver knife. The head of the prince Dmitry is framed with a nimbus of gold color.

History of Uglich
Uglich, the most ancient Russian city according to local annals has been based in 937 year. Jan Pleskovich, the founder of the city and the relative of Princess Olga Kievskaya was sent to the Upper Volga "to lay under tribute". In 1148 Uglich city has been mentioned for the first time in all Russian annals under the name "Ugleche-field".

As a boundary city with the Moscow princedom, Uglich was actively built up. In 1218 the city became residence of an independent specific princedom. But in 1238 Uglich had to come across the heavy trial - the same as many Russian cities, Uglich has undergone to an attack of the Tatar-Mongolian aggressors, has been plundered and burnt.

In 13 century, in its second half, the Uglich princedom has considerably expanded, the princedom structure at that time included several cities. But Uglich princes could not defend independence of the princedom. Since 1329 Uglich was under the Moscow influence while time and again was exposed to an attack of princes conflicting with Moscow.

Uglich got its independence in 15 century. It was the blossoming period - the city has built up, has got stronger economically and even minted the coin. Here, at that time, ruled Constantine, the son of Dimitry Donskoy.

Even more flourishing Uglich has become during the rule of Prince Andrey Bolshoy (Goryai) in 1462-1491. It was the period of city stone building in the Uglich Kremlin and neighboring monasteries.

In Uglich there was the tragic event which has become the beginning of the heavy "Time of troubles" in Russian history - on May, 15th, 1591 under mysterious circumstances in a northeast corner of the Uglich Kremlin, last from Rurik dynasty, Prince Dimitry died. These events lead to revolt and punishment of the Moscow government. The epoch of civil wars and country ruin has begun.

In 1610-1611 during the Polish-Lithuanian intervention Uglich has experienced terrible defeat. Inhabitants of Uglich heroically showed resistance to overseas invaders. As a result, after numerous cases of devastation Uglich has fallen into decay and desolation. So in 1620 in Uglich there were only 47 court yards. Only from second half of 17 centuries building of stone temples again was arisen in Uglich. And already later at Romanov dynasty in the city factories on leather and paper manufacture start to develop and different crafts prosper. Within 18 centuries active city building succeeds. Basically in Uglich wooden buildings are constructed. Churches, office buildings and houses of merchants were made of stone.

In days of Catherine II reign Uglich became the district centre. In 1774, along with other cities of Russia, Uglich general plan of building has been developed. Under this plan, old streets of the city extended, blocks got a rectangular lay-out, dilapidated houses were demolished, and new ones were under construction strictly in series. Thus, by the middle of the XIX century the city was built with two-storied stone mansions, some of them stand to this day.

Sights of Uglich
On abrupt right coast of Volga the Uglich Kremlin towers. The Kremlin was built under Andrey Bolshoy (Goryai) reign in 1480-1490 on the place where in 11 century the earliest site of an ancient settlement has been constructed. But up to now the construction of the Kremlin is not in its primordial form. During the Polish war the Kremlin has been completely destroyed. One construction of the Kremlin ensemble - chambers of specific princes which people name "the palace of Prince Dimitry" is the only one which remained. The place of death of a minor Prince Dimitry at first has been noted by a wooden chapel, and then the wooden church has been erected. And in 1692 already stone church "Dimitry on the blood" has been constructed. The church has remained up to nowadays.

One of the most interesting sights of the Kremlin ensemble is the Transfiguration cathedral which has been constructed by Andrey Bolshoy (Goryai) in 1485. The temple in an initial kind has been kept till 1713, then a shabby old building has been pulled down to the ground and the new one was erected. The final variant of the Transfiguration cathedral restoration has been carried out on samples of late Revival and baroque.

Near to the cathedral the bell tower is located. It is 30 meter construction has been constructed in 1730. For a long time the bell tower remained the highest construction of the city. The architectural composition of the bell tower fascinates because it forms the silhouette of the Kremlin which is well observed from the city and from Volga.

On a low hill to the right side of the Stone stream there is the "Divnaya" ("Amazing") Assumption church of the Alekseevsky monastery built in 1628. The "Divnaya" church is nicknamed by the people not casually - this construction is very beautiful and unusual, precisely found proportions of the church give it a sharp silhouette, as though soaring in space.

The Alekseevsky monastery has been based in 1371 by the Moscow Metropolitan Alexiy and is the most ancient monastery of Uglich.

The architectural shape of Uglich from Volga area is formed by two more ancient monuments. These are the construction of the monastery which has remained till now - the church of Nativity of John the Baptist, constructed in 1689-1690 which by right is considered the most beautiful architectural construction of Uglich city, and the Resurrection monastery.

In 1674 under the order of the Rostov metropolitan Jonah the Resurrection monastery has started to be built up with stone buildings. All monastic constructions - the belfry, the Resurrection cathedral, the chamber with the Smolensk church of Saint Mary - have been located from the north to the south on one axis. Thus, very beautiful sculptural ensemble was formed and its composition looks balanced and perfectly made up because of different height of constructions.

In the street Rostovskaya the Epiphany monastery is located. The monastery has been based in 14 century by the Great Princess Eudoxia, the wife of Dimitry Donskoy. The monastery is remarkable due to the five-domed cathedral of God Epiphany which has been constructed in the Russian-Byzantine style, and also the Fedorovsky church which was erected on canons of classicism in 1810. In the monastery territory there is the five-domed church of the Smolensk icon of Saint Mary.

The only monastery of Uglich city which reached us in its primal form is St. Nicholas Uleyminsky monastery. It was based in 1460, and in 17 century the monastery was surrounded by stone walls. St. Nicholas Uleyminsky monastery is located in 12 km from Uglich.

The magnificent panorama of the city opens from Krasnoarmejskij Boulevard. It is the highest point of Uglich. From here you can admire beauty of the Kremlin ensemble, the Resurrection monastery, the construction of hydroelectric power station with a dam which holds Volga directly in the city line.

City of museums
Uglich is the city of the most remarkable museums. Here there is one of the oldest provincial museums of Russia - the Uglichs state historic, architectural and art museum.

Having visited the Museum of the city life, you will get acquainted with traditions, customs, and the life of Uglich last epoch inhabitants. The Museum of the watch factory "Chayka" ("Seagull") is very interesting, having visited this Museum you learn about history of the largest Soviet time enterprise of Uglich.

The museum of History of the Russian vodka, opened in August, 1998, in the exposition shows all grades of a hot drink which are launched in distilleries of Russia. Excursion on a museum shows you not only rich assortment of this alcoholic drink popular among people, but also tells about the competent relation to the usage of alcoholic drinks, about " culture of drinking".

"The world of the 18-19 centuries childhood " is a cozy museum in which the magnificent collection of ancient and unusual children's things and toys is collected. All exhibits established in the museum, carefully collected from cities, keep inward history prints.

The museum-gallery of dolls will acquaint you with original creativity of local artist Olga Pavlycheva. The exposition is very interesting - heartwarming dolls from papier-m?ch?, fabric and other materials, wonderful small houses, bear cubs. Here it is possible to see young ladies in old-fashioned dresses, amusing clowns, fragile fairies and also set of fantastic doll characters. Besides in this unique museum you can admire the magnificent pictures made in the technician of graphic thread.

The Museum of prison art "Prohibited zone" based by the local enthusiast, lawyer Michael Viktorovich Lotkov, is very unusual and amusing. The unique products made by hands of prisoners from improvised materials are presented to the museum expositions. These are such interesting exhibits, as, for example, playing cards from the newspaper, beads from bread and many other things. In the museum you can get acquainted also with a prison life, visit prison cells, where everythingis the same like in the present-day cells, both plank beds, and tables with benches and even wax figures of prisoners in uniform.

The most amazing place is the Museum of myths and superstitions of Russian people. The museum exposition is rich and entertaining. Interiors of rooms completely repeat dwelling of peasants of the last centuries. And fascinating excursion on a museum will acquaint you with Old Russian mythology, beliefs of Slavs, talismans and the life of the people inhabiting modern Yaroslavl area. In the museum splendid works of Darya Chuzhaja - dolls-characters of Russian fairy tales are presented.

Visiting of the historical and musical exposition "Uglich rings" can become not less interesting for you because here you will learn about ancient art of bell ringers in all details.

Welcome to Uglich city!
Well-groomed, tidy country town Uglich is one of pearls of the Russian Golden ring. Numerous tourists from the different countries of the world aspire to get to this surprising city to see personally the unique monuments of history, to experience mysterious atmosphere of ancient Russia, to open for themselves unusual beauty and charm of Russian nature.

Architectural ancient monuments, dense neighboring woods, the mighty beauty Volga - the shape of the Old Russian city of Uglich is harmonious and astonishing! And how pleasant it is to walk on the quay of Uglich and to admire the slow watercourse of Volga! In the evenings graceful lanterns light up on the quay, creating romantic mood.

Charming beauty of the country town is the cheerful, multi-colored wooden small houses ornated by a thin snow-white lace of plat bands. The Uglich people love the city, care of its beauty and attraction.

Comfortable hotels of Uglich are ready to receive visitors of the city, having given the conditions of residing approached to the European standards. Cozy restaurants and city cafe invite to spend time pleasantly and try the most delicious ethnic cuisine dishes.

And what tasty cheeses in Uglich! In the city there is, unique in Russia, the scientific institute of butter and cheese manufacture. Academician A.Oparin working in Uglich, creates unique stamps of microorganisms which are used by manufacture of cheese at local factories. These are such known sorts of cheese, as "Uglichsky", "Kostroma", "Poshehonsky", "Russian" and others.

Uglich mineral water at the same time does not concede to cheese on popularity and excellent quality.

For memory of stay in the ancient city of Uglich you can get the souvenirs made by talented Uglich artists and masters of Arts and crafts.
Come to the original, amazing Uglich city to get excellent mood and positive emotions! 

Uglich Photos
Uglich Kremlin
Resurrection Monastery, Uglich
Monastery of St. Alexis
Ephiphany Monastery, Uglich
Nikolo-Uleyminskiy Monastery, Uglich
Church of St John Chrysostom Nativity, Uglich
Church of Prince Dimitriy Na Pole, Uglich
Church of the Transfiguration, Uglich
Uspensky Marvellous Church, Uglich
Uglich Historical-architectural and Art Museum
Museum of Myths and Superstitions of the Russian People, Uglich
Museum-Gallery of Dolls, Uglich
Chaika Clock Museum, Uglich
Russian Vodka Museum, Uglich
Prison Art Museum, Uglich